Wolf Museum - manhattanmysteries.com
The Wolf House Museum, which is located at 630 Fremont in the old part of Manhattan. This old house provides a unique setting in which to experience Riley County History. John Frank built this two-story limestone house in 1868 and advertised it as “the German Boarding House.” In 1875, Dr. George Hazard Perry III and his wife Ellen purchased the house. They continued to operate it as a boarding house, and it remained in the Perry family for sixty three years, until 1938 when the John Hepler family bought it. Local photographer Max Wolf and his wife Lucile purchased the house in 1941 and it remained in their family until 1982 when Mrs. Wolf donated the house and its contents to the Riley County Historical Society to establish the Museum. The Wolf House Museum currently exhibits Manhattan home life in the 1880s with special exhibits on “Manhattan Mourning” and “150 years of Children and Toys.” Entwined in the history of the Wolf House are connections to a number of Manhattan mysteries, mishaps, misfortunes, and murders which will be explored during the tour. If you want to take the tour, please sign up at the Registration Desk, and further instructions will be provided.